Contact Us


Shari Plagge, ICA


Mailing Address:

PO Box 428

Clarion, IA  50525

Telephone:  515-532-3737

Fax:  515-532-3501

Assessor Responsibilities 

The Wright County Assessor is charged with several administrative and statutory duties. The Assessor's primary duty and responsibility is to assess all real property, which includes residential, commercial, industrial, multi-residential and agricultural classifications of property within its jurisdiction except that which is otherwise provided by law. Real property is revalued every two years (Odd numbered years are equalization years). The effective date of the assessment is January 1st of the current year. The assessor determines a full or partial value of new construction or improvements depending upon the state of completion as of January 1st.

The assessor does not collect taxes, calculate taxes or determine the tax rate. The assessor is concerned with value, not taxes.  Taxing jurisdictions such as schools, cites and counties adopt their budgets after a public hearing.  Budgets determine tax levy which is the rate of taxation required to raise the money budgeted.  The taxes you pay are proportional to the value of your property compared to the total value of property in your taxing district. 

The Wright County Assessor is appointed by the Wright County Conference Board consisting of the members of the Wright County Board of Supervisors, the Mayors of all incorporated cities within Wright County and a member from each school board within the county. The Conference Board approves the assessor's budget and after a public hearing acts on adoption of same. The assessor is limited, by statute, depending upon the value of the jurisdiction, to a levy limitation for their budget.

Assessors are required, by statute, to pass a state examination and complete a continuing Education Program consisting of 150 hours of formal classroom instruction with 90 hours tested and a passing grade of 70% attained. The latter requirement must be met in order for the assessor to be reappointed to the position every six years.

 Click Here for Property Information and GIS Information